Choicelessness

Friendsters

Posted in architecture, personal by johnsnavely on September 22, 2009

It’s been a while since I posted anything here. Instead of talking about my work, I thought I’d give a little shout out to all my friends who are making interesting things happening.

A friend of mine from MIT, Sarah Dunbar, is showing a piece at the biennial in Korea. She’s posted a few in progress photos of the installation to flickr. It looks amazing!

Image:Sarah Dunbar

Image:Sarah Dunbar

Bryan Boyer, who works for Sitra these days,  just finished running creating the website for a Low2No a sustainable design competition. Arup was the winner in a field that included REX and BIG. The designs were “sketchy”, but I thought the design brief itself put some stakes into the ground at the appropriate scale– somewhere in-between an urban and architectural project. I’m excited to see what comes out of it!

In the spirit of green, my friends over at Howeler Yoon have posted a couple of rad looking renders of a new project they’re working on. I wonder if those pods are truncated octahedrons.

Image: Howeler Yoon

Image: Howeler Yoon

Image: Howeler Yoon

Image: Howeler Yoon

Last but not least, Stephen Perdue, one of my close friends from MIT is recently underemployed thanks to the construction recession in Boston. I’ve worked with him on a number of projects and he makes beautiful work. The upside of this is that you can hire him. He’s quietly updating his portfolio here. (Expect more great stuff in the next couple days.)

Some of my favorites are “Malibu Nights” and Stephen’s thesis “MegaShed”

Image:Stephen Perdue

Image:Stephen Perdue

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bryan said, on September 22, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Just to clarify, Low2No is something my colleagues at Sitra put together. I’m just the webmonkey on this one!

    • johnsnavely said, on September 28, 2009 at 3:38 pm

      Duly noted. btw, I’m thinking of hosting my own little architecture competition… would love to bounce my *only* idea off you… ping me if you’re on gmailz.

  2. Armistead said, on September 23, 2009 at 6:55 am

    These are gorgeous, John. Thanks for sharing. You guys did something with birds and water towers before, didn’t you? Stephen’s work looks familiar.

  3. johnsnavely said, on September 23, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Yeah, Stephen and I (and Sarah Dunbar) worked on a competition for water towers in Chicago.

    This was years ago, but recently the project was shown on the Pruned blog.

  4. sarah said, on September 26, 2009 at 4:21 am

    hi john
    yeah, that is the finished installation. I’m still waiting for decent photos. Its funny because we shipped all the material to korea to be assembled and I don’t think I’m ever going to see the thing in person myself. quite a process. hope you are doing well.


Leave a Reply

