Choicelessness

Hikiko Moiré

Posted in architecture, art by johnsnavely on May 13, 2009

I’ve been fooling around with 3d studio max recently and vray displacement maps. I made a movie.

(Probably, better quality on youtube HQ)

test8

test11

And a couple of “archtectural” collages with gynoids stolen from Hajime Sorayama (NSFW!), an artist who I admire. He’s a little soft core, but I think his work is striking.

moretests3

moretests5

It’s been pretty fun and I’d like to make some more. One problem I’ve run into is how to extract geometry from the displacement map rendering. Basically, the mesh is calculated at render time. (All I’ve modelled in these images is a sphere, cube, and plane.) So the mesh is there, but I can’t export it. If anyone knows how to get it into a .3ds or obj file, please let me know.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tom said, on May 13, 2009 at 5:10 am

    Hmm, Zbrush or Mudbox may be able to apply a displacement map to geometry and export the displaced geometry – give their demos a try.

  2. jack said, on August 26, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    very nice info…let me add my 2 cents to this blog by sharing a really good resource of 3ds max tutorials at http://appslog.com/blog/1-blog/796-huge-list-of-3ds-max-tutorials.html

    they really have a huge list of tutorials.


Leave a Reply

