Choicelessness

Recycling Part II

Posted in architecture, personal, programming, projects by johnsnavely on February 22, 2009

As I mentioned a post ago, I was throwing old work up onto flickr. One project was a bird house, the other was a set of stairs and a copper wall.

It was the first architectural project I’ve ever worked on.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I had just learned Rhinoscript and that was my major contribution to the project. Ann Pendleton-Julian and Alex Tsamis brought me in. They wanted to know if I could turn an involute into a staircase.

So I scripted one.

stair4

stair2

It was an exterior stair for the rear entrance, the one closest to the garage.

bigone

The stair was tucked into the innards of the building but still exterior thanks to a copper wall that wrapped deeply inward.

copperlayout2

Ann thought it would be boring if all the copper tiles were the same so I wrote another script that basically fit a set of tiles with varying sizes onto the surface. The script used large tiles in areas of little curvature and smaller tiles where the curve tightened.

copper4 [Converted]

If I can find the scripts I used I’ll post them as well.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sam said, on February 26, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Wow, seeing all this cool stuff you’ve done is really inspiring and makes me want to learn Rhinoscript…

  2. johnsnavely said, on February 27, 2009 at 2:10 am

    Hey, thanks. If you’re in Portland I think I’m going to co-teach a workshop.


Leave a Reply

