Choicelessness

Zugswang

Posted in architecture, culture, work by johnsnavely on December 19, 2008

DSC02784

DSC02599

I’m back from a 3 day business trip to the Herman Miller Headquarters in Michigan. It was really fun. We talked with them about their design process, saw some interesting work they’re doing at the architectural scale, and toured their factory, designed by Cradle to Cradle’s  infamous William McDonough.

I also got a chance to meet and chat with Chuck Hoberman about parametric design. I did not know he’d moved to buildings.

All in all, it was a fantastic visit and hopefully soon I can talk more about what will come out of it.

More pictures from the visit are here. (I’m a pretty poor photographer and I use flickr for storage more than gallery…apologies for the blurry pics!)

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. quangtruong said, on December 22, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    –I wish you had told me you had a blog earlier! I just found it linked somewhere between bryanboyer or enriqueramirez or 765. I like it a lot.

  2. johnsnavely said, on December 22, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    heh! Thanks man. Glad to hear you like it!

    Are you on the blogosphere? (I’ll add you to my blogroll.)

  3. Quang said, on December 25, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    working on it. . .
    it’s called no ideas but in things. i’ve added yours to my blogroll, already.


Leave a Reply

