Choicelessness

RE: Re-Reader

Posted in projects, technology by johnsnavely on October 24, 2008

Just a short follow up.

feedly _ cover

Well, I had posted before about my frustrations and the many flaws of google Reader. (I was not alone.) And lo! My prayers were answered with just a short search to find other readers.

Right now, I’m using feedly, a feed reader with a more newspaper like feel– if that’s what you’re into. And it pretty much delivers everything I’ve asked for in a reader. I won’t go into detail here, but two important points:

1.) It imports everything straight from google reader, so no harm no foul.

2.) The API looks robust enough for everything from skinning to “plug-in” modules.

Delicious and some neat sharing and comment features are also there! I’ve only been using it for a couple days and I’m still un-readering some of my habits to see if there’s something else I’m missing here. I’m johnsnavely if you’d like to follow or ping me on feedly.

Feedly is a firefox plugin. I’ve been hitting more and more of these. They are pretty useful. For example, the above image is made with abduction, a plugin which allows you to save any webpage as an image…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bryan said, on October 25, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    nice nice! I like it but I wish there was a way to toggle the summaries into full posts. maybe I’ll look into writing a plugin.

    it would also be nice to be able to define custom views. like: I want a 3 column layout with these two specific feeds and then a group of feeds all sharing the 3rd column. etc etc.

  2. johnsnavely said, on October 25, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I haven’t looked closely at the API but they make it sound pretty simple to reorganize content or skin your pages.

    Yeah, it seems a few of UI behaviors are inconsistent. For example, you can toggle to the full post when you’re in a category but not on the main page. Also, “Add to Delicious” and “Save to Delicious” do the same thing. But the “delicious” button at the top of a post uses the plug-in popup window. (Awesome!)


Leave a Reply

