Choicelessness

Retro

Posted in art, programming, projects by johnsnavely on September 12, 2008

My former teacher and mentor, Meejin Yoon, is up for tenure review. Since we can’t vote on the matter, cross your fingers or something for her!

Earlier this week she asked me for some images and scripts of old work I’d done in her studio many years ago. Sadly, I’ve had a few hard drive crashes since then, all I could dig up was a buggy script and no images.

So last night I fixed the script (hacked) and made a few new images. The script is a pretty poor implementation of an L-System generator in Rhinoscript. But I’ll post the full script to the scripting blog this evening. Maybe someone will find it useful.

This has been a Rhino week. On Wednesday, I met with David Rutten, who’s just as brilliant as you might expect from his work. He’s an architect turned programmer (ahem), but he’s one those cases where he’s actually a very very good programmer. He showed me a beta version of Grasshopper, formerly called the Explicit History Plugin, which is a visual programming language (using boxes and arrows– much like Yahoo pipes) for parametrics in Rhino. (Tim, you should check it out, it reminds me of some of the work you’ve done with a pipes like interface.)

My first project might be to remake these L-Systems in Grasshopper.

Anyway, here are the pretty pictures. I hope they help Meejin get what she deserves– sweet sweet tenure. (The full set of pics is here.)

Leave a Reply

