Choicelessness

Petit Mode

Posted in culture, fashion, sports by johnsnavely on August 20, 2008

My brother sent me a link to an article on Naomi Yotsumoto, a young Japanese table tennis player who wears outfits of her own design. She’s in the Olympics playing TT for Japan.

image from Imprint Blog.

She’s a pretty talented player and also pretty, which are great reasons to watch her. Ping pong could use a little more style in the uniform department. I’m glad she’s taking this on.

Ping pong, as I read in the NY Times last Sunday, is on its way out–its popularity has slowly decreased over the years and there’s a little worry that we might not see it in a few Olympics down the road.

I used to play on the team at Dartmouth and for a few shameless semesters filled in as the team captain. My borther and I both have fond memories of going to the “Church of Ping Pong” when we were in highschool in Western Mass. There was old church (in Bathesda I think) with a gymnasium where some really awesome players would gather to play in the evenings. Like old boxing clubs where a shabby outpost might indicate a lonesome enclave of quality play by a washed-up old star, there are ping pong clubs like this all over the United States. I went to one in Windsor (and even played in a tournament there.) I found another one when I lived in NYC in Manhattan on the upper west side. I got to hit a few (literally) with a former olympic player. I’ve been told there’s a club somewhere here in Seattle but I’ll have to find it.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mlle. LeRenard said, on August 20, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    “She’s a pretty talented player and also pretty, which are great reasons to watch her.”.. eh? that’s your reason to watch her?? But yes, those are hot clothes. I’d like to wear them to the beach. I’d be like the nippophile version of a whigger


Leave a Reply

