Choicelessness

Places Don’t Exist, We Just Need Them

Posted in projects, technology by johnsnavely on July 3, 2008

For work I’m supposed to visualize a recorded conversation. I’ve got no lorem ipsum for this, so I started chatting with javascript Eliza. Transcript follows:

ELIZA: Is something troubling you ?
YOU: I’m supposed to have finished this visualization of a conversation.
ELIZA: Is it because you are supposed to have finished this visualization of a conversation that you came to me ?
YOU: Yeah, I was hoping you could help me with it.
ELIZA: Perhaps I already know you were hoping I could help you with it.
YOU: Wow! That’s even better.
ELIZA: That is interesting. Please continue.
YOU: So I was thinking we could talk and maybe you’d have some insight into how to structure a conversation.
ELIZA: Were you really ?
YOU: Yes.
ELIZA: You seem to be quite positive.
YOU: Well, now I’m not so sure.
ELIZA: Do you enjoy being not so sure ?
YOU: Sometimes it’s fun.
ELIZA: What does that suggest to you ?
YOU: An unhappy childhood?
ELIZA: I’m not sure I understand you fully.
YOU: That makes two of us.
ELIZA: Does talking about this bother you ?
YOU: Nope. Am I making you uncomfortable?
ELIZA: Would you want to be making I uncomfortable ?
YOU: Are you Rastafarian?
ELIZA: Why are you interested in whether I am rastafarian or not ?
YOU: I’m not. Sorry, that was a bad joke.
ELIZA: Do you know anyone else who is not ?
YOU: A few. Present company excluded, of course.
ELIZA: Please go on.
YOU: No thanks. Let’s talk about my project.
ELIZA: You are being a bit negative.
YOU: I’m just changing the subject.
ELIZA: Is it because you are just changing the subject that you came to me ?
YOU: I came to you to talk.
ELIZA: Do you came to anyone else ?
YOU: That’s really personal.
ELIZA: I’m not sure I understand you fully.
YOU: That seems to be the major problem here.
ELIZA: Tell me more about that.
YOU: If your “chinese menu” had more items that were relevant to things I was actually interested in, then perhaps we might have a meaningful conversation.
ELIZA: What would you do if my “chinese menu” had more items that was relevant to things you was actually interested in ?
YOU: Spend more time drinking alone, probably.
ELIZA: What does that suggest to you ?

I remember a site long ago that had an Eliza screen play writing contest. If anyone knows where that is, I’d be grateful.

Leave a Reply

