Choicelessness

Canine Gattaca

Posted in dog, technology by johnsnavely on March 25, 2008

While walking my dog Mattie (a dog among Gods) last weekend, another hiker and dog-owner commented that she looked like a Southern Black Mouth Cur.

For comparison, here’s a picture of my dog and a picture of the Southern Cur:

There’s some similarity. And apparently, although the yellow cur seems to be more popular, Southern Curs can sometimes have brindle or brown coats like Mattie, and often have their tails docked in the same way. I’d always assumed she lost it in an accident in her former rough life.

I’ve never heard Mattie called a Cur before and, if she is in fact that breed, it’s something of a relief. Mostly, when people look at Mattie, they see scary pit bull. (Although she’s the friendliest dog in the world.) But being a pit bull (or even part pit) is more than just scaring people, the laws in Boston require that pits (all pits) be muzzled when out in the public. Given that I’m a mutt and so is my dog, I’m of the opinion that these breed (race!) specific laws are unfair and inaccurate. Rather than standing up and protesting the law, however, I have been looking into getting my dog genetically tested.

I’m not sure how any of this relates to humans, exactly, but it is very strange for me to think of purchasing a genetic test online, like shopping on ebay or amazon or something.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bearolyn said, on April 4, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Nice. Love the pic of Mattie. Incidentally I was in the blood donor center of MGH yesterday and found a pamphlet about pet blood donation. I’d never heard of it before, but it is a cool idea!

  2. artificer said, on September 14, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Do you have more pictures of Mattie? Also, what traits is she exhibiting (treeing, herding, tracking)? How does she transition from walking to running?

    I recently met a gentleman who did not know he had a BMC, but became convinced when I commented that Augustus (his dog) looks like the picture perfect BMC. Apparently, I was the third or fourth person to say so.

    Yes, he gets the same responses that maybe the dog is cross bred with a pit bull and a golden retriever or something. It is untrue. Few people seem to be familiar with BMCs, and often confuse the breed with something else.

  3. johnsnavely said, on September 14, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    I’ve got a few photos here:
    http://flickr.com/photos/johnsnavely/sets/72157594249609020/

    If we let her she’ll chase squirrels to the tree then she puts her paws up on the trunk and sometimes tries to climb. She whines a bit, but doesn’t bark. She rarely ever barks…

    Between walking and running she’ll trot or canter.

    She doesn’t herd.

    Are you a breeder of BMCs?

  4. Jill White said, on September 20, 2010 at 4:09 am

    That picture you put up is of my dog Bubbers. That was how he looked at less than a year old. He looks a little different now. Weighs about 75lbs and his eyes look better. He has TERRIBLE allergies and that is why they looked like that. Anyway, I just couldn’t help but mention that he’s my dog…

  5. johnsnavely said, on September 20, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Bubbers is a pretty handsome dude. Thanks for letting me use his picture! 🙂


Leave a Reply

