Choicelessness

Rinse and Repeat

Posted in art, dance, movies, music by johnsnavely on January 21, 2008

I’ve been teaching a rhinoscripting workshop since Thursday. There’s some interesting projects coming out of it. I wish I had more time to work with the students, but we only have a week. In the meantime, I’ve also been putting together my new website. (For the job search, which will now be abbreviated with FTjsW)

Anyway, I thought I would share RJD2’s new music video (courtesy of cliptip). It’s quite good. And reminds me of scenes from old Gene Kelly musicals, like dance number on rollerskates from It’s Always Fair Weather:

Gene Kelly had some sick moves. As Chomsky would say, “It is with good reason that he is so very famous and rich”. The musicologist has taught a class on the Kelly’s film, Singin’ in the Rain which he documents in a really informative blog post that covers the connection between musical dance numbers of the past and today’s underground dance innovations. In particular, he talks about Singin’ in the Rain remixes including an old VW commercial I remember from a few years ago. I really liked it then, and when I explored it more deeply years ago it led me to this video, which I was really obsessed over (wait until about 45 seconds in):

The guy kicking names is David Elsewhere, one of the four dancers who appeared in the VW “remix”. Check out some of the videos on his myspace page. Insanity!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. annie said, on January 29, 2008 at 4:04 am

    hey john,
    the performer in this video is bill shannon, aka crutchmaster, to whom one whole chapter of my thesis (The Cabgrab, The Faker, and the Toni Bones; Unleashed Difference in the Work of Bill Shannon) is dedicated! this is the first time i’ve seen this video though, and i’m very excited about it…is this a band you know well?
    also, in an older comment you asked about the thesis…i don’t have it online anywhere and i’m not sure i’d know how to go about putting such a large document…but if you were interested to read it, or maybe just that chapter, i’d be happy to send you a copy.

  2. johnsnavely said, on January 29, 2008 at 4:18 am

    Annie! I’d love to see a copy of your thesis. A chapter or whatever you wish to share. What are you doing in the post-school wasteland?

    RJD2 is not a band I know well. I do know, that he’s just one guy, and like Diplo has philly roots. I remember his stuff from this old Def Jux sampler. And of course, his last album, Since We Last Spoke, which is ill-arooney. I might have a copy somewhere that I can electronically loan you.

    Oh, and did you notice the video was one take? (er… the dance number, anyway)


Leave a Reply

