Choicelessness

Home Again

Posted in architecture, movies, music by johnsnavely on January 13, 2008

I’ve been back from my vacation for a week or so. I’ve been buried under an unexpected job search: interviews, a resume and portfolio, etceter-atum. And a putting together the final book for my thesis.

Anyway, in the car today on the way to Staples on the radio, I heard an all a capella version of Bowie’s Under Pressure which somehow managed to be awesome. Then later today I heard this:

Which is based on this song by Mariah Carey:

Lovely. I remember being into Honey when I was in High School. With some irony, of course…. but not too much.

I also finally finished all 6 volumes of Akira over vacation. I was feeling so-so about the graphic novel since the movie (although ground-breaking) didn’t blow my circuits.

Buuuut the manga is unreal. It’s huuuge. 6 giant weighty tomes by Darkhorse that aren’t being published anymore until they re-release them … supposedly coming soon with a live action movie. Which had better be good, or else. The manga covers far more narrative in far more detail than the movie. And it does so with a deftness in storyline and graphic production that is hard to find anywhere else. The whole story feels like an apocalyptic Lord of the Flies. Only the story isn’t just apocalyptic, it’s post-apocalyptic, and then it goes post-post apocalyptic. Pick it up.

On the other hand, in totally different way, Adrian Tomine’s Sleepwalk and Other Stories was also an amazing read. Tomine does this sort of 90’s depression thing, but he does it well. Again and again. There’s about 15 or so short “stories” in the novel. They all carry the exact same emotional tone. But they’re all different. I hadn’t really thought of Summer Blonde as a controlled obsession, but in Sleepwalk it is overwhelming. I dig it.

Speaking of obsession, has anyone seen There Will be Blood? The critics seem to think it’s God’s gift to film. I have to admit, the trailer is intensely compelling.

There Will be Me Watching This Movie.

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jenny said, on January 14, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Just downloaded a ghetto copy of There Will Be Blood…waiting to watch it. No Country for Old Men was quite good. Javier Bardem…very scary.

  2. johnsnavely said, on January 15, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    cool. let me know how it is.

    When are you going to start a blog, Jenny? 🙂

  3. Jenny said, on January 17, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Hmmm…I don’t have anything interesting to blog about. I could just rant….but I did convince a friend here in Paris to start her own food blog.

    I also recommend Juno highly if you haven’t seen it yet. Love Ellen Page’s character…probably because I sometimes talk like that…


Leave a Reply

