Choicelessness

Diagrams More Completed-er

Posted in Uncategorized by johnsnavely on July 8, 2007

I’ve been really busy this week so I haven’t posted as much as I should have… I’ve taken the diagrams a little farther. But before those, here’s a site plan which I traced from a screen shot of a website (http://gis.nyc.gov/doitt/cm/CityMap.htm):

Not the greatest resolution, but here’s a traced map with labels to come…and if I can find some building heights, a 3d model.

I hadn’t shown this before but now you can see the slender alley on the eastern side of the building. It just reeks of creative possibilities!

So let’s do this again! Here’s the diagrams you saw in the last post. I added a few more combinations that I’ll talk about after the images. To see higher res pics, go check out my flickr account.

Quoted from my last post….

First, I’m showing three different types of banding of the program. Horizontal banding respects the floor plates but it means that one of the programs is either going in the basement or the roof. Vertical banding allows the front facade and “rear facade” (the one currently facing a parking lot that opens to a street…. I’ll trace a plan of the site and put it up soon, I swear…) to each operate under the influence of one type of program, being street front seems valuable to both retail and the theater. Diagonal banding might offer a way to incorporated a sloping floor in the cinema.

Finally, I start to use combinations that might have some overlap. Either shared program or architecture (walls, ornament, services). The first twelve combinations preserve the original programming of the building: retail on the first floor; apartments on the second. The second set of six start using the roof and basement in combinations.

Continuing… The next nine concentrate all have the retail in the front along the street and the theater in the back, with the apartments sitting in the middle. The roof is used only by the residents. When there are overlaps and “un-programmed” spaces, I get excited. Overlaps are zones in which both programs exist in the same space. I’m not really sure how they share it. It could be on the level of program still… like sharing bathrooms or something. Or it could be on the level of ornament… they share a column or a screen or a staircase. The blank spaces are intriguing (although pretty unlikely given that space is already at a premium). Maybe I could leave spaces that would be inhabited later by other types of programs– other than the three I’m using.

The next six (the ones that have a diamond in the middle) have shared rather than isolated program in the front and rear facades. I like the possibility of an empty diamond core/void around which the programs cluster. An interior space which all three stop before actually sharing. It makes the inside more important that the singular messages one would find in the facade. But maybe I need to reverse that position…

In the next six, the diamond is shared by two and sometimes three programs.

The last three have central triangle of program which opens to the roof with the other programs fitting around it. I think there’s some possibliities here. The central triangle is seperated from the street and opens to the sky: perfect for the residential block! Or maybe if the cinema was a theater-in-the-round that might work here as well. Kinda like these.

Leave a Reply

