Choicelessness

Dreams and Nightmares

Posted in Uncategorized by johnsnavely on June 21, 2007

I’m still a little jetlagged from my trip, but apparently restlessness is a good thing.

Last night I had a dream about thesis. Mostly it consisted of me freaking out about thesis while I was wandering through a large museum (much like SMAK in Ghent). I didn’t like the Kendall Greer stuff so much. But the Jesper Just and Clemens Krauss pieces were mindblowing…

Anyway, in my dream it occurred to me that the history of the site I had chosen was one of gradual decline. (Note to self: get the GIS data to back this up.) Thus, although the building was being reused again and again, it was usually “down-cycled”– that is, reuse without redesign. Maybe I could suggest that “up-cycling” or even “renovation” could not happen without design intervention. My proposal would be an up-cycle renovation.

As I woke up I had a quick thought that maybe my intervention would be really minimal, like a roofdeck or bus stop on top of/next to the building. Something small…

I need to finish my programmatic chart. And a site visit to NYC, soon!

Leave a Reply

