Choicelessness

Frankfurt

Posted in Uncategorized by johnsnavely on June 12, 2007

Yesterday I flew from Amsterdam to Frankfurt to accept an award. Some photos will be forthcoming. In the meantime you can check out the illegal ones I took on my flickr account. (Shhhh)

I’ve noticed that some of the things that I found so compelling might really stem from my American ignorance. Facade combinations and old vs new juxtapositions aren’t uncommon at all. Perhaps it is because the cities have gone through several rounds of renovation and demolition. I also wonder if nationalism plays into the look of the city. Without a consistent national architectural historic style, Americans have much more variety (randomness) in the buildings they preserve. A lot of this is random punditry about a subject that I really don’t know much about.

In other news, German WWF wrestling sucks. It has none of the slumming character of its Mexican counterpart. Although I do like most of what I’ve found here in Frankfurt, I kept hearing that the city was boring and industrial. And it is… but not so much that I’m not having a good time. The food has been pretty terrible. It’s really easy to understand the public transport and every bus and train is on time. They have a red light district here, but it wasn’t as nice as the one in Amsterdam. Frankfurt’s red light district wasn’t signaled by any change in program or ornament, only signage, which ended up being kind of boring. Sex by itself isn’t a style. It needs to be sold.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. R said, on June 16, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    Hey! You’re bloggin’…cool! Just wanted to let you know that your toothless neighbors are big Mattie fans. How do I know? Because when I took her for her midday walk today we passed them and one toothless neighbor pointed to her and then turned to the other toothless neighbor and said “That’s the good one!” Than they both grinned big, toothless grins at her. It was both weird and nice…mainly weird.


Leave a Reply

