Choicelessness

Dumas, mon père

Posted in Uncategorized by johnsnavely on September 14, 2007

It’s only Thursday and I feel like I’ve lived two weeks. I guess the nighttime counts as part deux.

It’s another late one for me and to get pumped, I went to YouTube and watched a couple clips from Old Boy, which is one of my all time favorite movies… much to the chagrin of some of my friends. It’s not for everyone, I’ll readily admit, especially people who aren’t into violence or gore. Here’s a nicer vid:

I really love how Chan Woo Park can riddle a ridiculous, bloodsoaked story with fairy tale shots. It’s like he’s torn between being a fashion photographer and wanting to make a slasher flick.

Here’s a fight scene that’s not for the faint of heart: (Seriously, don’t click play unless you want to see people get hit with a claw hammer. stabbed, beaten, etc.)

Growing up, The Count of Monte Cristo was one of my favorite books and although I’ve never been put down or grievously wronged, the scenes of this classic revenge movie always affect me. There’s a fearlessness in the face of death exaggerated to the point of idiocy (something that an artist like, Damien Hirst, would take on. You know, back when Hirst didn’t suck) that makes you feel powerful just for staying alive, because being alive is hard. Which is fun to remember, even if it isn’t true.

Well, now I’m going to grab my metaphorical hammer and get back to business.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sun, too said, on September 25, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    How about the fact that that whole fight scene is filmed continuously in what appears to be a large hamster tunnel set? And s1 is just waaaay too squeamish for Oh Dae Soo.

  2. johnsnavely said, on September 26, 2007 at 12:01 am

    heehee! (I never thought of it as hamster-esque)

    Have you read the graphic novel this is based on? I think some of the shots might be stolen from there…

  3. Graphic Novels « John Snavely’s Blog said, on September 26, 2007 at 3:03 am

    [...] 26th, 2007 Chris, in his apt description of the unusual shots in the Old Boy fight scene, reminded me that Old Boy was originally a [...]

  4. sun, too said, on September 27, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    No, I didn’t actually know it was based on a graphic novel…

    In fact, now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve ever talked to anyone who’s seen Old Boy. I watched it with my roommate, who ordered it because one of his co-workers at Papa Johns recommended it. But neither Paddy or me ever talked to anyone who knew anything about Chan-wook Park, and I think his co-worker only heard about the movie b/c he’s a pervert.

  5. johnsnavely said, on September 28, 2007 at 2:20 am

    Correlation = Causation when it comes to Old Boy.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

